Your 2017 MAYAA hosts are...

Julie Desrochers

Julie Desrochers is 22 years of age. She has recently completed her Bachelors of Education at the University of Manitoba while working as the Coordinator of Riel House National Historic Site of Canada. Julie is now a grade 1 teacher at a French immersion school in the Louis Riel School Division, Ecole Varennes. Through education, community involvement as well as pride as a bilingual French Canadian and Metis descendant, she has found a passion for sharing the knowledge about her culture and in turn listening and learning about and from all others around her. Julie continues to share this passion through work as an educator, her involvement with Folklorama as well as her role as a GEN7 messenger with Motive Canada.



Kyle Monkman

 Kyle Monkman is a recent graduate from the Electrical Engineering program at the University of Manitoba. As a Metis student, he was part of the Engineering Access Program (ENGAP) for Aboriginal students in engineering. As an undergraduate student, Kyle was a tutor for the ENGAP program, a Dean’s Honour roll student and an athlete. In 2016, Kyle won the University of Manitoba open Mathematics Competition. He has also volunteered to help with Space Camp and Verna Kirkness, a summer camp for gifted Aboriginal high school students throughout Canada. Kyle has recently started graduate studies in Physics at the University of Manitoba.




2017 Press Release:

2017 Press Release.pdf

2017 Recipient List.pdf


2016 Press Release.pdf

2016 Recipient List.pdf

2015 Press Release.pdf

2015 Recipient List.pdf

2014 Press Release.pdf

2014 Recipient List.pdf